NATURA 2000 - European network of protected areas in Slovakia

NATURA 2000 - European network of protected areas in Slovakia NATURA 2000 - European network of protected areas in Slovakia

The Slovak Republic joined the community of countries founded on the basis of common internal foreign policy upon its entry into the European Union on 1 May 2004. Community rules and standards are equally binding for all EU Member States and are superior to individual national laws. There are two EU legal standards that are applied to nature conservancy efforts:

- Directive of the European Parliament and of the Council No 2009/147/EC of 30 November 2009 on the conservation of wild birds (Birds Directive)

- Council Directive 92/43/EEC of 21 May 1992 on the conservation of natural habitats and of wild fauna and flora (Habitats Directive)

These directives intend to maintain or improve conditions for rare and endangered species of plants and animals and natural types of habitats to preserve biodiversity in the EU. The primary means of accomplishing these goals is the creation of a continuous network of protected areas, known as NATURA 2000, within which suitable forms of management are applied in order to preserve these species and habitats.

NATURA 2000 is composed of two types of areas:

1. Special Protection Areas (SPAs) are established on the basis of the Birds Directive for the conservation of the bird species identified in the annexes to this directive. 341 wild bird species are found in Slovakia. 81 of these are subject to European conservation status for which SPAs are announced.

2. Sites of Community Importance (SCIs) are established on the basis of the Habitats Directive for the conservation of the plant and animal species identified in the annexes to the directive.

The NATURA 2000 system SCIs are located within biogeographical regions. A total of 9 such biogeographical regions are specified within the EU. The Alpine Region and the Pannonian Region are located in Slovakia. Slovakia’s Prešov Region is a part of the Alpine Region.

Site of Community Importance Tatry (SKUEV0307 Tatry)

SKUEV0307 Tatry is located in the following cadastral territories: Lendak, Bobrovec, Jakubovany, Jalovec, Jamník, Konská, Kvačany, Liptovské Matiašovce, Liptovský Trnovec, Okoličné, Babky, Pribylina, Smrečany, Východná, Žiar, Štôla, Starý Smokovec, Štrbské Pleso, Tatranská Lomnica, Tatranská Javorina, Ždiar,  Habovka, Vitanová and Zuberec

SCI Tatry covers 61735.30 ha.

The SCI was established in order to protect important habitats of Community significance: Calcareous and calcshist screes of the montane to alpine levels (8120), Alpine and Boreal heaths (4060), Bushes with Pinus mugo and Rhododendron hirsutum (4070), Sub-Arctic Salix spp. scrub (4080), Siliceous alpine and boreal grasslands (6150), Alpine and subalpine calcareous grasslands (6170), Species-rich Nardus grasslands, on silicious substrates in mountain areas (6230), Hydrophilous tall herb fringe communities of plains and of the montane to alpine levels (6430), Mountain hay meadows (6520), Active raised bogs (7110), Alpine rivers and the herbaceous vegetation along their banks (3220), Transition mires and quaking bogs (7140), Oligotrophic to mesotrophic standing waters with vegetation of the Littorelletea uniflorae and/or of the Isoëto-Nanojuncetea (3130), Siliceous scree of the montane to snow levels (8110), Alpine Larix decidua and/or Pinus cembra forests (9420), Medio-European calcareous scree of hill and montane levels (8160), Calcareous rocky slopes with chasmophytic vegetation (8210), Siliceous rocky slopes with chasmophytic vegetation (8220), Caves not open to the public (9110), Asperulo-Fagetum beech forests (9130), Medio-European subalpine beech woods with Acer and Rumex arifolius (9140), Medio-European limestone beech forests of the Cephalanthero-Fagion (9150), Tilio-Acerion forests of slopes, screes and ravines (9180), Bog woodland (91D0), Western Carpathian calcicolous Pinus sylvestris forests (91Q0), Acidophilous Picea forests of the montane to alpine levels (9410), Alkaline fens (7230) and species of Community significance: Slovak Pasque flower (Pulsatilla slavica), lady's-slipper orchid (Cypripedium calceolus), Campanula serrata (Campanula serrata), Carpathian Tozzia (Tozzia carpathica), Tatra scurvy-grass (Cochlearia tatrae), Carpathian glossy pink (Dianthus nitidus), Scapania massalongi, Mannia triandra, Tortella rigens, ground beetles (Carabus variolosus), brook lamprey (Lampetra planeri), northern crested newt (Triturus cristatus), Carpathian newt (Triturus montandoni), yellow-bellied toad (Bombina variegata), Tatra chamois (Rupicapra rupicapra tatrica), lynx (Lynx lynx), river otter (Lutra lutra), brown bear (Ursus arctos), Bechstein's bat (Myotis bechsteini), wolf (Canis lupus), Tatra pine vole (Microtus tatricus), alpine marmot (Marmota marmota latirostris), barbastelle (Barbastella barbastellus) and lesser horseshoe bat (Rhinolophus hipposideros). 

More detailed conservation conditions, the boundaries of the area and levels of conservation are contained in Ministry of Environment Ordinance No. 3/2004-5.1 of 14 July 2004, which defines the national list of sites of Community importance.

Special Protection Area Tatry (SKCHVU030 Tatry)

Special Protection Area Tatry (SKCHVU030) is located in the cadastral territories of Liptovský Trnovec, Liptovské Matiašovce, Bobrovec, Babky, Jalovec, Smrečany, Žiar, Jakubovany, Konská, Jamník, Pribylina, Liptovská Kokava, Hybe, Vavrišovo, Svätý Štefan, Východná and Važec, the cadastral territories of Štrbské Pleso, Tatranská Lomnica, Tatranská Javorina and Ždiar in the Poprad District and the cadastral territories of Habovka, Tichá dolina and Zuberec in the Tvrdošín District.

SPA Tatry covers 54,611.29 ha. 

SPA Tatra was declared to ensure favourable habitat for the following bird species of European importance: golden eagle (Aquila chrysaetos), western capercaillie (Tetrao urogallus), boreal owl (Aegolius funereus), black grouse (Tetrao tetrix), Eurasian pygmy owl (Glaucidium passerinum), hazel grouse (Tetrastes bonasia), peregrine falcon (Falco peregrinus), black swan (Ciconia nigra), lesser spotted eagle (Aquila pomarina), European nightjar (Caprimulgus europaeus), black woodpecker (Dryocopus martius), Eurasian three-toed woodpecker (Picoides tridactylus) and great grey shrike (Lanius excubitor) and ensuring conditions for their survival and breeding. Detailed conservation conditions and the boundaries of the area are stipulated in Ministry of Environment Decree No. 4/2011 of 22 December 2010, which declared SPA Tatry. 







logo profinet

Slovenske -elektra rne Logo CMYK



Eagle Anička BONUS

Story of one eagle

(english version)

Marmoth Story

ikonka kopie

Live Cams

Kriváň peak



All DaysAll Days5794818



kukaj logo6